Sharing is a different way to manage permissions and let your friends more easily see what buckets
you have shared for them. When you make a bucket a 'Share' and you give a friend read or write access,
that bucket will show up when they browse you in their Friends list.
Shares can be read only or both read and write. Permissions on files you upload to these shares are handled automatically.
To view what buckets your friend has given you permissions, you'll need to add them in the Friends tab (using their email address). Selecting a friend in the friends tab will show you a list of buckets they have shared for you.
Sharing is a unique feature of 3Hub and works without contacting any 3rd-party server or "middleman" and works by storing files in certain expected locations on S3 that are readable only by those you share with. It is essentially a private and distributed way to share files without having to use a Dropbox or other service that operates on top of S3.
It's ok if you manually adjust permissions on a Share (via the Permissions option or via a different app), but certain sharing features may not be available for that bucket or your friends may not be able to access certain files as a result.
You can make an existing bucket a share, and you can remove a bucket as a share without modifying any files. If after removing a share you may also want to remove the existing permissions.
Shares are just buckets with permissions and you can remove a Share at any time without removing any files.
S3 limits what headers you can set. These headers include Cache-Control, Content-Disposition, Content-Encoding, Content-Type, Expect, Expires, x-amz-storage-class and x-amz-meta-*. To attach meta data to a file you should use the x-amz-meta- header syntax. For a more detailed list see the API documentation.
This is available in Preferences | Files (for version 1.0.2 and later).
This is available in the Info menu option when you have a bucket selected (for version 1.0.2 and later).
This is in the About view, in S3Hub | About 3Hub menu option.
This bucket keeps certain 3Hub settings, like your friends list and bucket permission settings. This lets you use 3Hub from any computer and use the same settings. Currently there is no way to disable this feature. By default this bucket is hidden from view, but if you want to see it you can make it visible by un-selecting Preferences | Advanced | Hide 3Hub bucket from view.
3Hub was originally called S3Hub but S3 in this context is essentially trademarked and to avoid any confusion, was renamed. To maintain compatibility with older clients you may see references to s3hub.
If you want to know exactly what calls 3Hub is making, you can select Go | Activity, which will show a list of the calls being made. Its not recommended to keep this open during large bulk operations since it may affect memory usage.
More questions? Find a bug? See the group.